

June 3, 2024

Dear Big I Westchester Member:

I am pleased to kick-off our annual request for nominations for the Frederick H. Dayton Award. This Award, presented at E-Day, is given in memory of IIAWC President Frederick Dayton, who died in office, and commemorates his outstanding contributions to the Association and to civic life. We celebrate his legacy by recognizing those among us who share his abiding commitment to both.

We encourage you to nominate a candidate who is a current member of Big I Westchester and who has made meaningful contributions to Big I Westchester and his or her community. While current Board members cannot be nominated for this lauded award, consideration may be shown to those who have served as a director or an officer. Community service and additional volunteer/charitable work are key factors considered during the selection process. Your participation in the nomination process is vital.

Attached is a list of prior recipients.

Please take a few minutes to fill out the attached sheet and return it promptly by July 15, 2024

Rhonda Jacobius Personal Lines Manager Rosen & Company, Inc. 145 Bedford Road Armonk, NY 10504 rjacobius@rosen-co.com 914-939-1200

Please note: The winner of the Frederick H. Dayton Award will be announced prior to the Education Day Conference set for Thursday, September 26, 2024 at the Opus Hotel in White Plains, NY, so the recipient can be honored in the Program Journal. We will present the Award at a special program during Education Day. Please do not procrastinate. Fill out your recommendation form now.

We i	lool	k for	ward	to	seeing	VOII	at I	₹-D	av.
** C			wara	w	JUCILIE	you	uti	$_{-}$	uy.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

Rhonda Jacobius Frederick H. Dayton Award Chair

# FREDERICK H. DAYTON AWARD REQUIREMENTS

#### Basis for the award:

- 1. The Award is presented annually at E-Day in memory of IIAWC President Frederick Dayton, who died in office, and was known for his outstanding contributions to the association and to civic life.
- 2. The Award was established to recognize the achievements and contributions of other members of the association who epitomize the values, achievements and character of Fred Dayton.
- 3. The potential recipient will be evaluated with respect to his/her levels of activities and successes in the association and within their community. A balance of achievement in both is preferred.

### Restrictions on eligibility are as follows:

- 1. A candidate must have contributed meaningfully to the Big I Westchester and be a current member of the association. Consideration may be shown to those who have served as a director or an officer. Community service and other volunteer/ charitable work will be important in the evaluation of prospective Dayton candidates.
- 2. A candidate must not be currently serving on the Big I Westchester Board of Directors. This restriction has often be interpreted to exclude any potential candidate who is presently serving on related Boards such as the Downstate Insurance Associations Council or Big I New York. However, serving in those capacities does not affect the eligibility of a Dayton candidate.
- 3. A Putnam County agent may be considered if he or she has been active in the Big I Westchester, and not just the Putnam Association.

### Frederick H. Dayton Award Recommendation Form

Return by July 15, 2024 to:	
Rhonda Jacobius Personal Lines Manager Rosen & Company, Inc. 145 Bedford Road Armonk, NY 10504 rjacobius@rosen-co.com	
To make a recommendation for the Frederick H. Dayton Award, please complete the infibelow. If more space is required, please attach.	formation requested
Nominee's Name:	
Agency Name:	
Address:	<u> </u>
Position:	<u> </u>
Insurance Association Accomplishments, Offices Held, Awards, Etc.	
Other Insurance-Related Accomplishments:	
Civic/Charitable Activities:	
Personal Comment: Why do you think your nominee qualifies to receive the Fr Dayton Award?	ederick H.
Nomination submitted by:	
Name:	
Agency:	<u> </u>
Date:	

## PAST FREDERICK H. DAYTON AWARD WINNERS

1974 George M. Homer

1975 Joseph Stein

1976 Morton S. Seidenstein

1977 Kenneth Metz

1978 Robert Colwell

1979 Robert Streger

1980 Peter R. Mazzille

1981 John Reilly, CPCU

1982 Edward McLoughlin

1983 John J. Faley, Jr.

1984 William Spain, CPCU

1985 Brad Clark

1986 Francis Patrick Tobin, Jr.

1987 Marshall T. Corey, CPCU, CLU

1988 James B. Gilman

1989 David B. Rosen

1990 Norma D. Homer

1991 Vincent A. Dunn, AAI

1992 John M. Coughlin

1993 Thomas J. Dietz, CPCU

1994 Richard A. Flynn

1995 Edward Groner

1996 Andrew T. Robinson, CPCU

1997 Lloyd Bedford Cox

1998 Edward H. Dwyer

1999 Bruno F. Zaffino, Jr., CPCU

2000 Clifton Rosenberry

2001 Nancy J. Rehm

2002 Richard Canter, CPCU, AAI

2003 Thomas M. Sternberg, CIC

2004 Brian Wallach

2005 William Cooper Colwell

2006 Gary J. Forbes, CIC

2007 George L. Goodman, CPCU

2008 Paul D. Ranieri, CPCU

2009 JoAnne Murray, CIC

2010 Eugene R. Fulton, III

2011 Sara J. Rosen

2012 R. Todd Rockefeller

2013 Nancy Morrell McClatchie

2014 Michael Coughlin

2015 John J. Cofini

2016 Margaret Black

2017 Brian Colby

2018 Robbie Davis

2019 Stephen B. Rosen

2020 Paul G. Sohigian

2021 Robert Kestenbaum

2022 Beth S. Hoffman, CPCU, AAI

2023 Rhonda Jacobius